Skip to content

iPhone 2.0

October 16, 2008

Apple tells me Version 2.0 has been accepted, guess my 5000 Heil Steve’s to the mighty Ringo deity last night paid off. iTunes is still showing 1.0 for me but hopefully it will update soon.

2.0 features ‘search’ and ‘find nearest’ functionality as well as the latest Zenbu data. Upgrade essential.

The biggest bummer for me about this version is that the screenshot I’ve chosen to demonstrate Zenbu uses a search for ‘burgers ponsonby’. Well, I was in Ponsonby on the weekend and there’s a new burger store! Murder Burger is in Zenbu now but didn’t make it into the 2.0 release. Even more of an incentive for me to extend the app to include data updates outside the App Store!

3 Comments
  1. reuben permalink
    October 16, 2008 1:10 pm

    Just what I’ve been waiting for, Thanks!

  2. October 20, 2008 4:56 pm

    Always love to hear suggestions Gavin!

    1. I see your logic and like the idea. Fewer clicks is better and that would save 2 clicks, although there would be a lag on doing the nearest search which may be annoying if that wasn’t what you were trying to do. I’ll play with it and see. Anyone else consistently use this pattern?

    2. Ha! I think I would have to put in a ‘developer mode’ option as I don’t think this is “normal behaviour”. Right now the GPS turns off after 30 secs or a sub 100m reading to save power.

    Cheers for the feedback. It all helps.

  3. October 28, 2008 12:17 am

    Got the update, love it!

Comments are closed.

