Skip to content

Profile of a Kiwi thief 2008

October 14, 2008

My flat was burgled on Friday afternoon. I did use Zenbu to look up the nearest police station phone number as well as a nearby locksmith but these were small rays of light in a bleak evening.

I am somewhat a techno-whore, with an interest in the outdoors, so I managed to provide the thief an excellent combination of high value electronics and backpacks to take it with.

I am insured, but even that time consuming process will not give me back the valuables that can not be measured in dollars. I’d be lucky to get $50 for the 10 year old backpack I’ve taken around the world and the Waitakeres a million times – but if I ever see anyone carrying my very distinctive bag, there will be retribution and they should hope a hockey stick is the sharpest item I have to hand.

From a completely analytical viewpoint I was able to learn some interesting things about this thief, who will I call by the handle I’ve assigned him; theiving-kunt-08.

  • theiving-kunt-08 spent at least 2 hours in me and my girlfriend’s 3 room flat, displaying boldness and/or great preparation in knowing our time schedule.
  • theiving-kunt-08 took my (fingerprint-login) laptop, cameras, laptop, ipod, GPS, external hard drives so obviously has a keen interest in electronic gadgets. (I hope he doesn’t develop a keen interest in my finger)
  • theiving-kunt-08 took my phone base station, but not the (now useless) phone, so maybe he just likes shiney objects and actually has no idea what they are.
  • theiving-kunt-08 took my 1kg bag of Australian mandarins, an avocado and some kiwifruit. He didn’t touch my beer, wine or spirits but did take a 1L bottle of chilled tap water from the fridge. I figure theiving-kunt-08 is on a diet or a member of some extremist sect (stealing is OK, but alcohol is the work of Satan!)
  • BEST OF ALL: theiving-kunt-08 took the remaining half of my 1kg block of cheese. I guess this is more an indictment of the price of dairy in NZ today than on anything else, $12 a kilo?
    Now that’s daylight robbery!
One Comment
  1. October 16, 2008 9:16 am

    Zenbu code lives on several servers too so should be fine. Did however lose my girlfriends Freecell high scores and my plans to take over the world… sigh.

Comments are closed.

