Skip to content

Find the nearest…. payphone?!

October 22, 2009

Did you know that you can find every single payphone in New Zealand on Zenbu? Earlier this year Kiwitonita got Telecom to release this data and we loaded almost 3000 payphone locations onto Zenbu. (There are actually over 4000 payphones in NZ but lots of them are paired up at the same spot.)

I can’t say I’ve had a real life use case for this data yet, being able to find the nearest payphone from your mobile phone has been of questionable use, so it was very nice to receive this email today.

For a reason I won’t bother you with ( if I say legal stuff that should cover all bases! ) I needed to know if I recalled correctly that there was a payphone in Mt. Eden Road Auckland that I’d used when I last visited from Australia – your telecom site was about as helpful as – well, our Telstra – need I say more – maybe you got the info from there but I got everything else but. But I typed in the location on Zenbu & that showed me the nearest payphone! Appreciated. B.

Nifty! I knew it would be useful for something.

2 Comments
  1. October 31, 2009 8:41 am

    I noticed that the Garmin CN Aust/NZ maps do have Telstra pay phone locations orrery well mapped out.
    Don’t think they have NZ payphones listed though surprisingly.

  2. October 31, 2009 8:42 am

    I noticed that the Garmin CN Aust/NZ maps do have Telstra pay phone locations well mapped out.
    Don’t think they have NZ payphones listed though surprisingly.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

